“It’s a Good Morning” Smoothie

morning smoothie

About a week before our Thanksgiving holiday, my sister-in-law and friend asked me to participate with them in a month long raw cleanse.   Considering this is a big season for hot soups and beautiful curry dishes, I was somewhat reluctant.   But after a little thinking, I realized that this may in fact be a good time of the year.   Our days are getting shorter and cooler and often with it comes the common cold and flu bugs.  I want my body to be in “tip top” shape to fight these nasty invaders.  I just do not have the time to be sick!   Also,  why wouldn’t I want to feel more energetic and youthful?  (My birthday was only days away from this realization).   So, today is my fourth day on “The 28 – Day Simply Raw Detox Program” by Natasha Kyssa.

This is my second time on this program – the first being in the Spring.    Back then, somewhere near the end of the program, I discovered that I had developed some excellent dietary habits. Unfortunately, for me,  some of those habits slowly slipped away during the hot summer months.   So,  I am looking at this cleanse as a “refresher” – a reminder to continue those healthy habits once learned.

When I meander to the kitchen, first thing at the crack of dawn, I down one whole glass of room temperature water.   Water helps every cell in the body function properly.   During this cleanse, I must be sure to drink LOTS OF WATER.   For breakfast, I choose to whip up a green smoothie of apple, lemon juice, kale (high in calcium) and WATER.   For this first week of the cleanse, I can add some raw agave, stevia, or unpasteurized honey, but I have found that this smoothie really doesn’t need it.  I love it as it is!   Normally in the mornings,  I would throw a banana in there, but Natasha recommends leaving a banana out for later in the morning.  Bananas take longer to digest, so they are best to be left for later when I may require something heavier or more filling.

On a cleanse or not, green smoothies are a quick and healthy breakfast option.   Here is Natasha’s recipe – hope you give it a whirl!

NATASHA’S APPLE-KALE GREEN SMOOTHIE

  • 4 apples, cored
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice*
  • 4 leaves kale*
  • water to thin

Blend all ingredients together.  Makes 1 serving.

*At first, I found this to be a little too much lemon juice.  For the first time, you may want to decrease the quantity and adjust to taste.  If you don’t have any kale in the fridge, try a big handful of spinach.  Choose organic, local produce, if you can.

****If you feel you need a little sweetener, try adding a tablespoon of raw agave or stevia.  Soften dates are a great sweetener, too.  Soak dates in filtered water overnight.  Drain water in the morning then toss them in your blender.  You’ll love a smoothie with dates!    Please avoid adding white table sugar.  More about this in an upcoming post!

One thought on ““It’s a Good Morning” Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Almond Butter and Applesauce Muffins | uberdish

Leave a Reply

