Apple Pie for Dinner!

apple pie

I felt like Superwoman this weekend because I got so much accomplished.  On Saturday morning, I was in the mood for a change so I moved some furniture around in my living room.   Gosh, that feels good!  I then cleaned the house like crazy from top to bottom including the dreaded task of switching the summer clothes over to winter clothes in all our dresser drawers and closets.  That also meant filling 2 large garbage bags for our local charity of clothing that no longer fits.  You have no idea how much I despise this task of cleaning out closets and drawers!  Our Hub is going to love me for it, though.

To treat my girls and myself to a job well done, I decided I would make my apple pie and have it for dinner!  (Well,  I did make a cauliflower and leek soup in which we ate a small bowl first).   The pie was delicious!  My girls had 2 big pieces and thought I was….. THE. BEST. MOM. EVER.

Made from quinoa flour, rice flour and arrowroot starch, this crust is crumbly, light and gluten-free.   I got the recipe from a book I recently borrowed from our library, “Quinoa Cuisine” by Jessica Harlan and Kelley Sparwasser.  I love to bake, but I have never considered myself a baker.  Probably because I’m not a huge sweets eater.  I really prefer savory dishes.  Also, baking is not as forgiving if one makes small mistakes.  I was proud of myself today, as this crust was perfect for the not so experienced baker.

The original recipe calls for 1 cup of butter.  Use your favourite vegan butter.  I used Earth Balance.  I baked the empty pie shell for about 15 minutes, as per recipe instructions.  However, I baked the pie shell at 375 degrees Fahrenheit, not 400 degrees.  (I always hesitate to cook or bake at such a high temperature!).  My pie shell looked wonderful.  After the pre-baking,  reduce your oven temperature to 350 degrees F for the baking of your filled pie.

Recipe for quinoa-rice flour pie crust – http://www.scribd.com/doc/100924595/2/Essential-Recipes

I substituted a flax meal gel for the eggs and cashew cream for the sour cream or heavy cream.  I made the cashew cream in my food processor with a cup of  soaked cashews,  lemon juice and coconut sugar.  The center of this pie was creamy and sweet – caramel-like because of the coconut sugar.  Now, who doesn’t like caramel?!

apple pie slice

APPLE PIE FILLING

FLAX MEAL GEL

  • 3 tablespoons of flax meal
  • 9 tablespoons of hot water

Mix together in a separate bowl with a fork.  Let sit while you prepare remaining ingredients.

CASHEW CREAM

  • 1 cup raw cashews (soaked for at least 30 minutes in water), rinsed, and drained
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup water

Mix together in a food processor until a smooth consistency is formed.  Add:

  • 3/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • flax meal gel

Mix together.

APPLES

  • 5 large organic McIntosh apples, peeled, quartered and thinly sliced
  • fresh lemon juice

Mix sliced apples with lemon juice to prevent browning.

Pour mixture from food processor into pre-baked pie shell.  Place apples in the filling allowing for some overlap. (My daughter did this part for me). Bake pie at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 25-30 minutes.  Let stand for 10 minutes before slicing (if you can wait that long!).

Have it for dinner – because you deserve it! 😉

4 thoughts on “Apple Pie for Dinner!

    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you sooo much, Simone! I’m enjoying this a lot. I’m just trying hard to learn the tech part and “refresh” my somewhat stale writing skills. Hope you stay tuned!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

