Savoury Crepes

Oh, these crepes are absolutely delicious!  A surprisingly easy to make meal, we had them last night for dinner with steamed broccoli and a fondue-like cheese sauce that’s literally to-die-for.  You would never guess that this meal is gluten-free and vegan.

crepe

I’ve been craving cheese like mad, so I chose to make a fondue sauce to pour over the crepes. Before we cut dairy from our diet, our cool winter weekends often consisted of a warming cheese fondue.  I would use the leftover sauce for morning crepes or a topping for my toast.  For those of you familiar with Swiss cheese fondue, you will be pleasantly surprised with this recipe.  Nutritional yeast and potatoes give this sauce a beautiful cheesy texture.  When I mentioned this sauce as a “fondue”,  my daughter ran for some gluten-free bagels, cut a piece, and dipped it in the sauce!  Yummy!  The person who developed this recipe is a genius, in my opinion.  You will find the recipe here –   http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipe/blonde-bliss-vegan-fondue/

The crepe recipe comes from my Candle 79 Cookbook by Joy Pierson, Angel Ramos and Jorge Pineda.  If you are ever in New York City and looking for an awesome vegan meal, try Candle 79.  It’s a quaint restaurant just minutes from Central Park.

This recipe makes 10 crepes.  Just to let you know, we are a family of 4 and there was not one crepe leftover.  If you like to have some extra for the following day, then you may want to consider doubling the recipe.  Try this with leftover crepes – instead of using rice or noodles, try cutting  crepes in thin strips for a next day’s soup!

SAVOURY CREPES

  • 2 cups almond milk or other non-dairy milk
  • 1 cup chickpea flour
  • 4 tablespoons arrowroot powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped parsley
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped green onions
  • ground pepper
  • coconut oil for frying

Using a blender, process the milk, flour, arrowroot powder and salt to a thin, smooth-like consistency.  Pour into a large bowl and add the parsley and green onions.  Mix well.  I let this sit for about 30 minutes while I prepared my broccoli and cheese sauce.

Brush a crepe pan with coconut oil and heat the pan over medium heat.  Pour about 1/4 cup of batter into the center of your pan and tip it several times off of heat to cover the bottom of the pan.

Return the pan to the heat and cook for at least 3-4 minutes until the edges begin to brown.  Using a spatula, flip the crepe and cook for another minute.  Your crepe should be lightly browned.  Your crepe should flip easily.  If it is sticking to the pan, then wait another minute.  If you try to flip the crepe too soon, it will fall apart!

crepeinpan

Stack crepes on top of each other and keep warm until serving time.  Serve with your choice of steamed vegetables and sauce.  But, seriously – try the above fondue sauce!

I would like to thank my daughter for assembling this crepe and organizing the photo shoot.  While I was involved in an online “chat” with fellow Plant-Based Nutrition students, she decided to take charge and get dinner on the table.  (My kids now know that we don’t eat until snapshots have been taken!). Can you tell she loves mushrooms?!  Thank you, K!!

23 thoughts on “Savoury Crepes

  1. The Economic Vegetarian

    Interesting recipe…I don’t do gluten-free but smart idea using chickpea flour. Usually channa (chickpea) flour is yellowish in tone; the one you used is it a special variety?

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      I used Bob Redmill’s Garbanzo Bean Flour – stone ground. It does have a slight yellowish tone, but only slight. My photos make it and the sauce look more whitish. My daughter took the photo and it may have something to do with the flash. (I may need to invest in a deluxe camera! 🙂

      Reply
      1. The Economic Vegetarian

        haha! She’s a budding photographer then because the pictures turned out nicely. Are you using a SLR? I find it produces a much crisper photo

      2. uberdish Post author

        I will tell her you said so! She’s proud of her work. No, I’m not using a SLR. My mom has been over and she takes awesome photos with her camera (see my collard wraps), but she’s not always available. I do my best, but I know I must get working on the photography aspect! Maybe Santa will deliver one this year 🙂

      3. The Economic Vegetarian

        Fingers crossed! I’m hoping Santa will get me a better lens for my SLR, maybe a bribe of homemade chocolate chip cookies will do the trick 🙂

    2. Ally

      I made the crepes tonight! They were a hit.
      We had dinner at my parent’s house. I decided to make the crepes. My mum made chilli beans with rice and guacamole. The crepes went perfectly with it. They were delicious plain or stuffed with chilli beans.
      I actually threw all the ingredients in the blender, including green onions and parsley- but it worked brilliantly!
      Thank you! Even Least Adventurous Eater loved them!
      They will definitely become a regular recipe in our house.

      Reply
      1. uberdish Post author

        Hi Ally! I am so happy that you and your family tried the crepes and loved them! What a great idea of having them with chilli beans, rice and guacamole!! Yummy! I’ll have to try that too. May I ask how your mom made the chilli beans? Thank you!

      2. Ally

        My mum and I make a very similar chilli bean dish.

        I use a combination of kidney beans and cannellini beans (white beans). Sometimes I add chickpeas or black beans if I have them. About 1 1/2- 2 cups of beans in total.

        I use cooked beans (in the pressure cooker) but you can use canned if you prefer. So, two cans of beans.

        Firstly, in a fry pan (skillet) cook a chopped, small onion, and a clove or two of garlic. Then add 1/2 – 1tsp of ground cumin, cinnamon and ground coriander. Add 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. A dash of dried chilli flakes or some fresh chilli (we keep it mild these days, with kids). Add salt and pepper too, if you like.
        You can experiment with spice quantities to find the amounts that you prefer.

        Then add a tin of tomatoes. I use an immersion blender at this stage to purée most of the tomato. Leave some chunky bits if you like.

        Then add the beans and simmer for a little while (I’m so specific!). You can also add corn kernels. You just might need another tin of tomatoes if you add corn. It depends if you prefer a chunky consistency or not.

        Serve with your preferred rice. I often add some hot chilli sauce to mine.

        We usually just make a simple guacamole- Avocado and freshly squeezed lemon juice. I also serve a small, simple salad OR steamed broccoli.
        This has been a staple meal in our house since we became vegan.
        I hope that all makes sense!

      3. Ally

        You’re welcome 🙂
        I am making your crepes again today! It is my dad’s birthday. I am going to make mini ones, spread them with cream cheese and roll them up (with a toothpick). That’s the plan anyway!
        Incidentally, I have been gluten-free for 6 days. I am amazed at how quickly I have seen positive results. From day 4 I noticed an improvement in my energy levels. I don’t get bloated, or a full feeling after eating. My eyes are not as sensitive to light, which is a surprising but welcome result (I would usually need sunglasses on cloudy days). I also haven’t had coffee for 8 days. I was speaking to my husband this morning about the whole family doing a gluten-free trial for 2 weeks. Do you think 2 weeks is long enough?

      4. uberdish Post author

        Hi Ally!

        Sorry for the delay in replying. Our weekend was a busy one, but now the kids are back in school and we are back into a routine (somewhat).

        That’s wonderful that you are a week into the gluten-free diet and are already noticing a difference! When we first started the gluten-free diet, the first thing I noticed was that the concrete basketball I had been carrying around in my belly was shrinking! I never really lost weight, but my jeans felt like they were fitting better. I had also suffered from extremely “itchy” legs. My doctor said it was just dry skin, but I now think it was something more because my legs are no longer scaly and full of sores from scratching (gross, I know!).

        I think having the whole family eating no gluten is a wonderful idea! You will probably find it easier than you think. I believe it’s harder for families that are in a routine of eating processed or packaged foods or those that frequently eat out in restaurants.

        You may only have a hard time with your kids when it comes to bread. Finding the perfect loaf can be a little challenging. As well, gluten-free baking can be trickier, but once you find a flour and mix that everyone enjoys, it really is a piece of cake!!

        Gluten is very toxic for the body, so you may want to extend the trial to at least 30 days. It may take at least a week to break the craving for gluten. Some family members (like yourself) may notice a change within days and others it may take longer. I also think that after 30 days you will find that your taste buds will much prefer the gluten-free menu and, therefore, sticking to it indefinitely will be much easier.

        I would like to suggest that with your kids (now I know that this is deceptive), you do not “announce” that the foods you are giving them are gluten-free and may be “different” than what they are used to. I have found that I have better success with kids when I tell them what their food is made of and only if they ask!! ie. “I used a nuttier flour for these pancakes….aren’t they nice and fluffy!” I have an extremely picky nephew and this seems to work on him.

        Good luck and keep me updated!

      5. Ally

        Thank you so much for all that useful advice. I really appreciate it. I agree about the bread. We are lucky to have a bakery here that makes decent gluten-free bread but it is expensive (and a smaller than regular loaf). My kids are happy to eat it. They already like gluten-free pastas, so that is easy. As you suggest, I don’t announce that it’s gluten-free either.
        I think my 6 yr old son will really benefit. There are 3 specific issues with him that I think gluten will alleviate -that’s the impression I get from my ‘research’ anyway!
        Yep, I just need to get confident with the flour now, for baking.
        Thanks so much! 🙂

      6. uberdish Post author

        You are very welcome, Ally! You are so lucky to have a bakery close by that will make some delicious gluten-free bread. Since going gluten-free, our family has really “cut back” on the amount of bread we consume. Sandwiches are somewhat of a luxury in our house because of the expense of g-free bread. I’m trying hard to get my girls to enjoy collard wraps instead. They’ll do it, not for school though, (one more reluctantly than the other!), but I can tell that they would prefer a hunk of a piece of bread!

        I hope your son is free from whatever symptoms ail very soon. Take care.

  2. Ally

    Yum! I’ll have to try these. I have a 3/4 full bag of chickpea flour in the pantry screaming out to be made in to crepes!
    Your daughter did a great job!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: {recipe} Cucumber and Nut Cheese Bites | Lime Cheesecake (vegan). « Made of Stars

  4. Pingback: {Recipe} Cucumber and Nut Cheese Bites | Lime Cheesecake (vegan). « Made of Stars

  5. Pingback: {Recipe} Chilli Beans | Made of Stars

  6. Pingback: {Vegan MoFo} Muffins, More Chips and a Freaky Friday | Made of Stars

Leave a Reply

