It’s a perfect time for MACA-ROONS!

maca-roons

‘Tis the season for energy food!

Need a little treat that will increase your stamina and fight your fatigue?  Having a hard time fighting colds and dealing with the stress of the holiday season?  These tasty, fudge-like morsels contain maca root powder,  a highly nutrient dense whole food.  Maca, also known as “Peruvian Ginseng”,  is a herbaceous plant found high in the Andes of Peru.

This root has been used to make medicine for centuries.  Not only does it help build strength, maca root has been known to aid women with hormonal balance – an ideal food choice for those suffering from PMS or menopausal symptoms.  It has also been used to help anemic patients.

You can add maca root powder to your smoothies, soups, or baking.  I replaced 1/4 cup of protein powder in my favourite raw macaroon recipe (I apologize, as I’m not sure of this recipe’s source) with a 1/4 cup of maca powder.  The result was heavenly!

Super easy – here is the recipe!

CHOCOLATE MACA-ROONS

  • 3 cups of dried coconut
  • 1/4 cup maca root powder*
  • 1/2 cup raw chocolate protein powder* (I like Sun Warrior and Garden of Life)
  • 3/4 cup raw cacao powder*
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Mix all ingredients together in one large bowl.  If you prefer to make raw macaroons, drop dough in large spoonfuls onto your dehydrator tray and “bake” at 112 degrees F for 4 hours.  I have found 4 hours to be the perfect amount of time for a macaroon that is slightly crunchy on the outside, but  moist on the inside.

If you do not own a dehydrator, try baking them at a low temperature in your oven.  I baked a tray at 200 degrees F for 35 minutes and they were similar in texture to my dehydrated macaroons.

I have been making these macaroons at least once a month for the past year.  We have taken them to work, sports activities, and to parties.  My kids even made them for their teachers last year as an end of the year gift.  They are absolutely delicious and, best of all, guilt-free!  Enjoy!

You can find maca root powder, raw protein powder, and cacao powder in most health food stores.

13 thoughts on “It’s a perfect time for MACA-ROONS!

    1. Ally

      Yum!!!! We always have a supply of maca powder at home because we use it in our green smoothies. I have a dehydrator, and all those ingredients (except our Sun Warrior is the vanilla flavour!). I will definitely try these.
      Do you think I should just use Vanilla Sun Warrior? Or wait until we run out, and I’ll buy chocolate?

      Reply
      1. uberdish Post author

        Hi Ally,
        Sorry, I’m just reading your comment tonite. I think the Vanilla Sun Warrior would be fine – maybe not as chocolatey. I have used the vanilla for another type of raw macaroon that includes some natural almond extract. The chocolate ones seem to be bigger hit in our house, though.

  1. df

    These look and sounds really delightful – definitely something I’d like to try, as a healthy treat is the best kind of all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

