Shanghai-Style Noodle Soup

As many of you are aware, I absolutely LOVE to travel.  This is one reason why I have chosen to eat so well.  There are just too many spectacular places on this earth to encounter in one lifetime.  I do not have the time to get sick.  I want to remain healthy and energetic for as long as I can so that I can experience all the wonders of this beautiful world.

Last Thursday I had the opportunity to accompany my husband to Shanghai for the weekend.  Yes, the weekend.  I know it’s a long flight (14 hours) and my time there not as long as I would like, but I gladly accepted the offer.  Seeing the world in short spurts will suffice for now.

During my short stay, I fell in love with Chinese Noodle Soup.  Actually, I became addicted to this meal and had it for breakfast and dinner on all 3 days.  When I returned home, I was to sure to stop by the grocery store for its ingredients.  I wanted to share this simple, warming, and aromatic dish with my children.  Their reaction – “Mom you should make this more often!!”.  I think I might just do that.

menoodles

SHANGHAI-STYLE NOODLE SOUP

  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon ginger, minced
  • 4 cups gluten-free, organic vegetable broth
  • 300 g dried mixed mushrooms*, soaked in 2 cups of broth for 5 minutes
  • 454 g organic tofu, cubed and stir-fried in sesame oil until lightly browned
  • 198 g stir-fry rice noodles, soaked in boiling water for approximately 4 minutes then drained
  • 2 cups baby bok choy, chopped
  • 250 g fresh bean sprouts
  • gluten-free soya sauce (I used Bragg’s liquid soy seasoning), if desired

Heat sesame oil over medium heat.  Stirring constantly, cook garlic and ginger for about 2 minutes.  Add vegetable broth, mushrooms, tofu, and bok choy.  Heat to boiling, then let simmer for 5 minutes.

In a large soup bowl, add cooked rice noodles.  Ladle broth and vegetables into bowl over noodles.  Add a handful of bean sprouts to bowl and stir soup.

Add a dash or two of soya sauce if desired.

* China is the world’s largest edible mushroom producer.  A bowl of noodle soup in Shanghai contains such a vast array of mixed mushrooms (shitake, tree oyster, chanterelle, and black trumpets, just to name a few – some of which I had never had the pleasure of tasting until this visit.  Try not to settle for white button mushrooms.  I found a wonderful bag of locally grown assorted dried mushrooms in a nearby natural food store.  What a wonderful flavour it brought to this soup!

Mushrooms are high in fiber, high in protein and contain B vitamins. They are considered the “meat” of the vegetable world.  I think I may become a mycophagist! 😉

shanghainoodlesoup

shanghai

10 thoughts on “Shanghai-Style Noodle Soup

  1. Stephanie

    Sweet baby J! That looks absolutely delicious. Making me hungry right now! 😉 I’m adding the ingredients to my grocery list…. I know my guys will love this.

    Stephanie

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you Stephanie! This soup would be perfect this time of the year because it’s so easy to make. A meal in one bowl – I love that! Let me know what your guys think!

      Reply
  2. dapperdolly

    Living in the UK, in major cities especially, and without the benefit of foraging/basic woodland education in primary schools we definitely forget that there are a huge variety of edible mushrooms, mostly thinking of them as ‘poisonous’. Every time I watch an anime and they’re eating a a vegetable dish they show lots of different mushrooms and I think to myself ‘I’d love those!’ Especially as some of the ones they have commonly are ‘super foods’ and hard to get here.

    I’m getting the urge for a stir-fry now lol.

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you for your comment! I really do find mushrooms fascinating! They are so odd looking, yet so tasty and nutritious. I read, too, that some varieties are very high in calcium and iron. I really must make a point of using them more often in my cooking. I’ll become a fungivore!

      I believe the UK has truffles?

      Reply
      1. dapperdolly

        A fungivore! Lol that would be interesting 😀

        I think we do have truffles that grow here, though not abundantly and I don’t know if they’re farmed here but they are quite expensive so not a common product in stores.

  3. Julie

    Love your blog! Thanks for stopping by mine. As you can see, I couldn’t stop reading all your older posts as I checked yours out:) I’m fascinated that you got to go to Shanghai for a couple days…and I would have loved that soup too. I will try out the recipe…I’m thinking I saw an assorted mix of interesting mushrooms at Whole Foods.

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Julie! I love your blog, too! Your title is great! I love when I can accompany my husband on these short excursions. I try to go somewhere with him at least once a year, sometimes it’s twice. I think you’ll love the soup. I honestly felt like I was addicted to it while I was there! Crazy & it’s so simple to make.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

