Gingerbread Cocktail

I know it’s late, but I just couldn’t go to bed without posting this drink!  I am so excited – Christmas in a martini glass!

cocktail

After a long afternoon of mixing, rolling, cutting and baking gingerbread dough, my girls thought it would be nice to sit together to watch a Christmas movie.  I thought that was a super idea, so I promptly began working on snacks and drinks for some good television viewing.

I heated 6 cups of organic apple cider on the stove and added some sliced ginger root (2 tablespoons),  2 cinnamon sticks, mandarin zest (a little tricky – I had no oranges!), fresh lemon juice (1 teaspoon) and 1 teaspoon of agave syrup.   My one daughter has been fighting a cold all week and I am very determined to keep her healthy for the holidays, so the ginger root was added to boost her immune system.  I let this spiced cider simmer for about 30 minutes while I whipped up some guacamole.

I decided on something extra special for us adults.  I cooled 2 cups of the cider in a glass pitcher with a few bits of ice.  I then added 1 cup of coconut water and 2 cups of chilled sake. 

In a small bowl, I mixed together 1/2 cup of coconut sugar and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon (the extra will be used in tomorrow’s baking).  Using an open mandarin slice, I rubbed the rim of a couple of martini glasses then dipped each in the bowl of coconut sugar and cinnamon.  I filled our glasses with the cider and sake and my gingerbread cocktail was born!

What is sake?  Sake is an alcoholic beverage originating from Japan.  Made from fermented rice, sake is natural and so rich in amino acids.  It is not distilled and it is not processed.  Check out these sites to learn more about sake and its health benefits http://www.learnaboutsake.com/2009/05/health-benefits-of-sake.html and http://www.sake-world.com/html/sake-faqs.html .

If you are in the mood for a cocktail, I suggest you try some Japanese sake.  It pairs so well with a variety of fruit juices.  Need some recipes?  Take a look at Sarma Melngailis’ sake cocktails in her books, “Living Raw Food” and “Raw Food real world”.   Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cocktail

Leave a Reply

