Candied Pumpkin Seeds and Walnuts

This year I struggled with finding something for the men on my Christmas list.  I was tired of wrapping up gloves, ties, motor oil, and aftershave.

I recall back in October, I made a dehydrator full of candied pumpkin seeds.  I really had to stop my husband from devouring them in one sitting. So, this weekend I decided to fill my dehydrator with candied pumpkin seeds and walnut pieces.  The men on my list will each receive a jar full of these crunchy and heavenly sweet snacks.  A healthy gift of good protein, antioxidants, zinc and Omega 3s.

One of my favourite raw food books is “Raw Food Real World” by Mathew Kenney and Sarma Melngailis.  (This book is signed by Sarma herself, having met her at The Seed in NYC last Spring! You see, I don’t get all giddy and star struck over rock stars. Rather, I find myself adolescent-like when I meet vegan chefs!)  I followed Mathew and Sarma’s recipes for candied pumpkin seeds and candied walnuts with a couple of minor alterations.

seeds

CANDIED PUMPKIN SEEDS

  • 2 cups pumpkin seeds, preferably soaked for 4 hours or more, drained and rinsed well
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 maple syrup powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Toss all ingredients very well in a medium bowl.  Spread on a dehydrator tray and dehydrate at 112 degrees Fahrenheit for approximately 24 hours, or until dry and crisp.

If you are using an oven instead of a dehydrator, bake at 250 degrees Fahrenheit for about an hour and a half until dry and crisp.  * Check seeds and walnuts often, as time may vary.

walnuts

CANDIED WALNUTS – follow recipe above

Fill glass jars or containers with candied pumpkin seeds or candied walnuts or a mixture of both.  Reserve a wee bit for yourself, as these nuts and seeds are awesome thrown in a mixed green salad.

9 thoughts on “Candied Pumpkin Seeds and Walnuts

    1. uberdish Post author

      Hi Ally – thank you! I live in the Maple Syrup Capital of Canada, so I’m fortunate to find maple syrup and maple sugar in many different places. Maple sugar is what is left from maple syrup when all the liquid has evaporated. It’s often found among other sugars at natural health food stores.

      Reply
  1. Tara

    OMG! These Candied Pumpkin Seeds are INCREDIBLE!!!! After receiving a batch for Christmsas, I made these last Sunday for the guys to eat while they watched the ball game… they licked the bowl! Darnit! I only had a few for myself. This weekend I will triple the batch (and hide most for myself!). Thanks for sharing and helping me to look like a Culinary Goddess!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Tara, for your comment! I’m so happy you love them as much as we do! They truly are addictive. Try the candied walnuts when you get a chance. I’ve been sprinkling them on my mixed green salads – sooo good!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

