Garlic Beets

beets

My family moved to the Ottawa Valley just over 6 years ago.  On my first Christmas here, my husband gave me a wonderful little cookbook recommended to him by the owner of our local bookstore.  Titled “The Green Door Restaurant: Vegetarian Cookbook”, this soft cover book is now a bit tattered and stained as it’s my “go to book” for quick, delicious vegan recipes.   This recipe comes from this book.  I brought Garlic Beets to our family Christmas dinner last night.

GARLIC BEETS

  • 5-6 medium-sized beets
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons umeboshi vinegar (also known as ume plum vinegar)*

Cook beets until tender.  (I used a pressure cooker) and let cool on a large dinner plate or pan.  Peel the beets.  Slice or chop the beets in small chunks and place in a serving bowl.  In a separate bowl, mix the minced garlic, olive oil and umeboshi vinegar.  Pour over beets, mix and serve.

Umeboshi vinegar, made from pickled Japanese ume fruit, livens up salad recipes due to its fruity and very salty taste.  Ume plums (more like red apricots) have a number of medicinal qualities.  One being a hangover remedy!  Umeboshi vinegar can be found in natural health food stores or in the health food section of some grocery stores.  If you do not have this vinegar in your pantry, but are dying to make this salad, you can substitute the umeboshi vinegar for red wine vinegar.  However, I do recommend that you give umeboshi vinegar a try.   To learn more about umeboshi or ume plum vinegar, check out this site – http://www.thekitchn.com/product-spolight-umeboshi-vinegar-168623 .

18 thoughts on “Garlic Beets

  1. Ally

    Yum, I love beets (we call it beetroot in Aus). They featured at our Xmas lunch and dinner. We ate ours cold- straight from the fridge. My mum had cooked up a batch a few days earlier.
    Yours sound delicious. I will definitely try your recipe.
    🙂

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Ally. I love beets too. On Christmas Eve in our house, it has become a tradition to eat a Beet and Beet Green Risotto (now without the Parmesan). ( I should post that recipe,too, one day – it’s an excellent one!). We may end up turning red before the end of this week!

      Reply
  2. Julie

    I want to try this too. My family ate cold pickled beets, but usually made from canned beets. Maybe it had boiled egg in it too? Not going there:) I have some umeboshi paste I have yet to use too…I know reading the Kind Diet spurred me to buy it…

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Oh, I love the Kind Diet! Have you tried her Peanut Butter Treats? I can’t make them anymore because I eat way too many at once. Not to mention, licking the bowls and spoons.

      Let me know what you think of the beets 😉

      Reply
      1. Julie

        I made a mistake with the beets and cut off the root and stems too far, but I always have adventures with my first trial of anything. Still tasted great…I actually look forward to the cold leftovers tomorrow. What temperature do you think is best for serving? The ume plum vinegar is different from anything I have had before…not bad, but unusual. I am interested in its benefits. I will have to try more recipes with it…And I will try the peanut butter treats, soon!

      2. uberdish Post author

        Hi Julie! I cut the stems off as close to the beet as I can before I start cooking them in the pressure cooker. I never toss the stems or leaves, but keep them to add to salads or stir fries. I usually make this salad ahead of time and serve it cold, but I have had it warm and that’s good too. I tend to make a lot because we love the leftovers.

        I love the taste of ume plum vinegar, too! It’s awesome in a mixed green salad, as well.

        YES, you must try the peanut butter treats!! Happy New Year!! 😉

    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you so much! Your comment means so much to me! 🙂 Hope you enjoy the beets – I’m a little addictive to beets right now (made them again yesterday!).

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Marinated Baby Bellas | uberdish

Leave a Reply

