A Birthday Cake

Last weekend we celebrated my husband’s birthday with one very moist and perfectly sweet mocha almond cake.  I have made many gluten-free birthday cakes in the past, but this was my first attempt at a gluten-free and vegan cake.  Delectable!!

cakefordan

Thanks again to Chloe Coscarelli and her cookbook, “Chloe’s Kitchen”,  for this Mocha Almond Fudge Cake recipe.  I got Chef Chloe’s book for Christmas and I honestly can’t stop making her  dishes.

(Steven and Chris have the recipe posted here –  http://www.cbc.ca/stevenandchris/2012/09/chef-chloe-coscarellis-mocha-almond-fudge-cake.html).

My two daughters helped me whip this cake up in what seemed like minutes.  We made this cake gluten-free and decided against the chocolate fudge sauce.  The girls thought it was sweet enough.

For a gluten-free mocha almond “no fudge” cake, substitute the flour in the recipe with a gluten-free,  all-purpose flour blend.   I have had great success with blends that I make on my own.  This is the blend that I used for this cake recipe.

Mary’s Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour Blend – taken from Living Without Magazine

  • 2 cups brown rice flour
  • 2 cups white rice flour
  • 1 1/2 cups potato starch (not potato flour)
  • 2/3 cup tapioca starch/flour

This recipe makes 6 cups of flour.  You will need 3 cups for the cake.  Store the remainder of the blend in an airtight container in your fridge where it will wait patiently for your next baking adventure.

* Be sure to add 1 1/2  teaspoons of xanthan gum to your measured 3 cups of gluten-free flour.  It keeps the cake from crumbling!

After the cake was baked, I let my two very eager daughters handle the decorating.  They used slivered almonds and Enjoy Life’s dairy-free chocolate chips to create flowers.  Chocolate chips were also used to create a heart in the center of the cake.  Let’s Do….Sprinkelz in pale yellow and pink were added as the final touch.

cake1

Happy Birthday, Daniel!! Just a few candles are missing 😉

cake!

21 thoughts on “A Birthday Cake

  1. Ally

    Wow Angela! That looks amazing!
    Oh I am so keen to make my first gluten free cake. I think I’ll do this one, and follow your flour instructions.
    Your daughters did a beautiful job decorating the cake 🙂
    Happy birthday to Daniel.

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you so much, Ally! My husband is the big cake eater in our family (actually he could be a cake critic!) and he is still ranting about it. He wants us to make another. He’ll just have to wait till the next birthday 😉

      Reply
  2. df

    Now, that’s a birthday cake! The girls did a fantastic job decorating, and it looks so very delicious! Happy Birthday to Dan!

    Reply
  3. susykat

    Thanks so much for putting up this recipe – I decided to make this cake last night for a friend’s birthday (his birthday is tomorrow, but I had to make it a bit early as I won’t have any other time to do it over the weekend). It was very simple to make, and I had all the ingredients already in my pantry. I made the version with regular flour. It smelled wonderful as it was cooking, and I can tell it will taste beautiful. I will let you know the verdict after the party tomorrow! Thanks again – I was going to just make him my usual foolproof vegan chocolate cake, so it was lovely to come by this recipe 🙂

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you so much for the nice comment! I am positive this cake will be a big hit with you and your friend. We thought it was awesome! My husband said that this cake was one of the best cakes he has ever had – he could seriously be a “cake critic”. Let me know! And, happy birthday to your friend!!

      Reply
      1. susykat

        I can confirm: this cake is sensational! It was a big hit at the party! Many people complimented me for the cake, and some were shocked it was vegan! It is SO moist and perfectly textured. I will be making this again! Thank you 🙂

      2. uberdish Post author

        Oh, I am so happy you all enjoyed it!! Thank you for letting me know! Do you have the cookbook, “Chloe’s Kitchen”? I’ve made a lot from her book. I get a little obsessed at trying every recipe when I get a new cookbook. My kids want me to make her vegan Mac & Cheese next – gluten-free, of course!

  4. Pingback: My Little Valentine « Made of Stars

  5. Eileen Likes To Eat

    Angela, you need to stop tempting me with those mouth-watering posts! Otherwise I’ll be making 5 recipes a day and eat them all!! haha…. I will consult your posts and read about your experience cooking Chef Chloe’s recipes before I make them. Really happy I found you!! 😀

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Our Peter Cottontail Cake | uberdish

Leave a Reply

