Ally’s Vegan Chilli

“The snow is snowing and the wind is blowing but I can weather the storm!  What do I care how much it may storm? For I’ve got my love to keep me warm.”

Actually, my love happened to be away with work.  Somewhere very warm I may add.   At home, the girls and I worked feverishly throughout the day keeping the snow from piling on our walkway and driveway.  I think we shoveled snow at least 4 times yesterday before a very kind neighbour came along with his handy, dandy snow blower.

But, we had chilli to keep us warm.  It was a real treat to sit down to a bowl of Ally’s Chilli at the end of a hardworking afternoon!  Ally’s chilli is the perfect blend of spices to keep you toasty.

chilli_edited-2

This recipe comes from one of my favourite bloggers.  Ally is “an Aussie mamma” who writes passionately about vegan parenting and animal rights.  Her blog’s name is Made of Stars and it is truly brilliant!

I am thrilled that Ally shared her and her mom’s chilli recipe with me.  This recipe is simple (a perfect dish for a busy weekday) and it is 100% kid-approved – my 2 girls gave it a 2 thumbs up in between heaping spoonfuls!  Ally said that this chilli has become a staple in her house.  It will now be a staple in our house, too!

We ate a bowl of this alone for dinner.  (Well, my 9-year-old daughter actually ate 2 big bowls!) There was no need for anything else at our dinner table.

Ally’s Vegan Chilli

  • onion, chopped
  • filtered water (3 tbsp. approx.) for sauteing
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 medium-sized zucchini squash, chopped (optional – I just had one staring at me from the fridge)
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • VitoBio Organic diced tomatoes* (796 mL/28 fl.oz)
  • Eden Foods no salt added kidney beans* (398 mL/14 fl. oz), rinsed
  • Eden Foods no salt added black beans* (398 mL/14 fl.oz), rinsed
  • frozen corn (optional)
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 cup quinoa, rinsed (optional – I added this in to free up a jar in my pantry)
  • dash of dried chilli flakes (I added this to my bowl only, not to the pot)

Saute the onion in some water.  ( That’s right! This works just fine! No need to saute in oil and add extra fat to our diets!).  When onions have softened, add garlic and chopped zucchini.  Continue to saute for about 3 minutes then add the spices.

Add the can of tomatoes and salt and pepper. If you prefer, you can use an immersion blender and blend the tomatoes for a smoother consistency.  You can see from my photo that we like chunky tomatoes in our chilli so we did not puree them.   Add the beans.  Bring the pot up to boiling, then add quinoa, if you so desire.  Cover and reduce heat to a low simmer for about 10 minutes.

*When it was time to make this dish, I turned to my well stocked pantry.  Yesterday, was not the day to sit around and wait for beans to soften in a pot.  So,  I used Eden Foods no salt added kidney beans and Eden Foods no salt added black beans.  Eden Foods do not line their cans with BPA.  They are actually the only canned bean that is BPA free.   I also used VitaBio Organic diced tomatoes (also contains no BPA or GMOs).  Having these foods in my pantry, makes following a healthy diet easier.

7 thoughts on “Ally’s Vegan Chilli

  1. Ally

    It looks so yummy! Thanks for mentioning me. You have taken it and made it your own! I love the addition of zucchini and quinoa. I am thrilled that you all enjoyed it. 🙂

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Ally! It was very yummy! ……I think though I may have to enroll in a photography course after my plant-based nutrition course is over! It’s amazing how difficult it is to photograph food (and kids!). I thought the bowl of chilli looked perfect until I put the picture of it on my computer last night. Crazy. I couldn’t do a re-take because we ate all the chilli up!!

      Reply
      1. Ally

        Oh I can relate! Although, I think we are probably more critical of our own photos than other people are. I didn’t find fault with your photo.

        I have been saying to Mat and my mum that the photography is the trickiest part of blogging for me. I am a writer, not a photographer.

        I was photographing some brownies that I had taken to my mum’s house the other night (with my phone, because I had forgotten my camera. First mistake!). The photos are really dark, but like you said, they get eaten and there’s no second chance. I said to my family that I need to do a food photography course. I doubt there are any in my area. There wouldn’t be any such thing as a vegan food photography course!

      2. uberdish Post author

        ha! You are too kind Ally! I really need to get my mom over here. She has great photography skills. By the way, I think your photos look very professional. “A Vegan Food Photography Course” – I would love to see that!

    1. uberdish Post author

      Oh my gosh! Your chilli looks sooooo delicious! Thank you so much for the link. Great idea of adding butternut squash and fresh cilantro. Yummy! I’m definitely making this one very soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

