Roasted Garlic, Cauliflower and Celeriac Soup

We woke this morning to a beautiful, crisp winter’s day.  Although the temperature remained at a steady minus 12 degrees Celsius and the wind felt bitter on the ears,  we finally had glorious sunshine.

When I was a young teenager growing up in northern Ontario, my friends and I would rush on days like today to the roof of our house.  Once up top, we would open up our scarves and remove our hats to catch every bit of the sun’s rays.  We would lie there for some time dreaming of our plans for the upcoming Spring.  Today, I settled for a nice walk around town and some time in the kitchen making a hearty, wholesome soup – as to not startle my fine neighbours.

roastedgarlicsoup

This recipe had me at roasted garlic! How can you go wrong with roasted garlic?

It also contains that knobby, hairy root vegetable called celeriac.  If you are not sure what a celeriac looks like, check out my post for a Creamy (No Dairy) Celery Root Salad.

A medium potato and cooked cauliflower are used to thicken this soup making it super creamy and rich without the addition of dairy.  Hemp seeds were scattered on top in an attempt to garnish.  I served a bowl of this soup this afternoon with some large pieces of flatbread I made overnight in my dehydrator.  The soup warmed our bellies and kept us going throughout the afternoon.

This soup recipe comes from a magazine that has been such a great resource since our family decided our home would be gluten-free.  Living Without is a magazine for people with allergies and food sensitivities.  Not only are all the recipes gluten-free, but many are vegan or can easily be adapted to suit a vegan diet.  Roasted Garlic, Cauliflower and Celeriac Soup was published in their October/November 2011 issue.  The only change I made was substituting the stock for my favourite gluten-free, vegan stock.

My next post will feature the flatbread served with this delicious soup. 

5 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic, Cauliflower and Celeriac Soup

  1. Ally

    We’re in the low 20’s this morning. Which is a crisp morning for us at this time of year. I actually have cold feet! Soup would be vaguely acceptable 🙂 Your soup sounds wonderful. I will book mark for Winter, or at least Autumn.
    I’m looking forward to your flatbread.

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      The low 20s a crisp morning? Really? ha! Awwww….I can dream. I’m glad to hear that you are only concerned with your cold feet and not any floods or heavy rain.

      Working on the flatbread post…..we had it and sacha inchi butter with our dinner. I didn’t think the girls would go for it, but they thought the butter was similar to peanut butter and ate it all up. No leftovers.

      Reply
  2. df

    sounds perfectly delicious Angela! I made a squash and red lentil soup today, and this sounds like one to add to the soup rotation. stay warm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

