Roasted Garlic and Parsnip Soup

I admit I was relieved when my kids asked for soup last night for dinner.  After a day of work, I came home to over an hour’s worth of snow shoveling.  And, it wasn’t the light fluffy kind.  Clearly, we were all very much in the mood for something quick, warm and comforting.

Parsnips have been on my mind this past week.  (I get the oddest cravings sometimes).  Luckily, I had a few reserved from my Parsnip Salad that I made on the weekend.

So, I roasted up some parsnips and garlic for a soup and the girls set out to make some garlic toast and a mixed green salad.  This meal hit the spot on this winter wonderland kind of day.

parsnipsoup

I adapted this recipe from our LCBO’s (Liquor and Control Board of Ontario)  Food and Drink Magazine.  This is a gluten-free and vegan version of  Lucy Waverman’s  Curried Parsnip Soup .  I didn’t get to the apple compote.  I will blame it on all the snow.   I chose instead to garnish my bowl with a few thyme leaves. 😉

CURRIED PARSNIP AND ROASTED GARLIC SOUP

  • 4 or 5 parsnips, peeled and cut into chunks
  • olive oil
  • several cloves of garlic, skins on
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon ginger, chopped
  • pinch of curry paste (or more, if you wish!)
  • 1 apple, peeled and chopped
  • 5 cups vegan soup stock
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk (from the can – reserve the rest for a vegetable curry)
  • sea salt, to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Place parsnip chunks and garlic cloves with skin in a large bowl, drizzle lightly with olive oil and toss.   Place on a baking sheet and bake, stirring several times, until parsnips are browned but not fully cooked and garlic is soft.  Set aside.

Saute onion and ginger in a soup pot over medium heat for 2-3 minutes.  (Try sauteing onion and ginger in a couple of tablespoons of water to avoid adding more oil to your soup).  Add curry paste and stir together.

Once garlic cloves have cooled, use your fingers and squeeze cloves out of skins.  Add apples,  parsnips and roasted garlic to pot and cook another 2minutes or until flavours have combined.

Add vegan soup stock and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to low and let simmer for 15 minutes or until vegetables are soft.

Puree soup using an immersion blender.  Add coconut milk and simmer for 5 minutes, thinning with a little water if needed. Season with sea salt to taste.

This morning I went for a walk along the river.  Our little town looked so beautiful with the freshly fallen snow. (Still snowing, by the way).  Thought I’d share my photos……

18 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic and Parsnip Soup

  1. veganfoodpreparation

    I don’t usually like parsnips but this just might tempt me into giving them another try.
    Still looks mighty cold where you are. We’ve just gone through the hottest summer on record with no rain since November until two days ago when we were blessed with 37mm of very steady rain. It’s back to mid 20’s and cloudless sky’s today.

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Have you tried them roasted? They taste a little sweet when you roast them.
      Our temperatures right now are hovering around zero, so it’s a little more tolerable. We had a pretty hot summer last year with literally no rain. Everything looked so dry. A mid 20 day is absolutely perfect! Can’t wait for that again. 😉

      Reply
  2. df

    I don’t call what we had to lift snow, more like ‘concrete’! Your soup looks like the perfect antidote – I bet you all enjoyed it very much. Love your pictures!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you! You’re right – it was like concrete! Have you seen my driveway? A little path, just enough to get my one vehicle in. The rest of the driveway will be cleared in July 🙂

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      It was very tasty! My somewhat picky 9 year-old said, “oh mom….this is good!”. If she likes it then we know it’s good! 😉

      Reply
      1. Ally

        haha! I can relate! Our 6 year old is our ‘deliciousness’ barometer! If he says it’s good, then we know it is….

  3. Ally

    I have never had parsnip soup. I have added it to vegie soup, but I’ve never had it as the main event! I am going to book mark this for winter. I am a big fan of coconut milk 😉
    I love your photos. It is nice to read about your day. 🙂

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Aw, thank you so very much Charu!!! This means a lot to me! I love your blog too 🙂 I look forward to checking out the other blogs you nominated. What a wonderful way to discover new and exciting things!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

