Beet and Beet Green Risotto

beetrisotto

Beet and Beet Green Risotto is by far one of my family’s favourite dishes.  I make it a few times each year, mostly at Christmas because of its vibrant red and green colour.   Recently, my 9 year-old daughter asked for it again when we spotted a beautiful bunch of organic beets in our grocery store.

My sister-in-law first made me this dish nearly 14 years ago.  After the first bite, I knew I had to have the recipe.  The original recipe comes from epicurious.  For years, I made it with butter (or garlic butter!) and a good helping of Parmesan cheese.  I have recently discovered that these ingredients are not at all necessary to create a creamy and flavourful risotto.

I now make my risotto with no oil and thanks to a recent post from liveblissful,  I now use veggieful’s vegan parmesan cheese made from cashews, nutritional yeast and a bit of salt.

BEET AND BEET GREEN RISOTTO

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pound red beets with greens (about 3 medium)
  • 4 cups vegan soup stock
  • 1 cup Arborio rice
  • 1/2 cup vegan parmesan cheese

Finely chop onion and trim stems close to top of beets. Cut beet greens into wide slices and chop stems.  Peel beets and cut into a fine dice.  In a small saucepan, bring vegan soup stock to a simmer and keep it a low simmer.

In a heavy saucepan, cook onion and garlic until softened in about 3 tablespoons of water over medium heat.  Add beets and stems and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Stir in rice and cook for about 1 minute.  Stir in 1 cup of simmering broth, stirring constantly.  Keep saucepan at a strong simmer until broth is absorbed. Continue cooking, adding 1/2 cup of broth at a time, stirring constantly. Be sure to allow each broth addition to be absorbed before adding the next.

After about 10 minutes, stir in beet greens and continue cooking and adding broth 1/2 cup at a time.  Once rice is tender and creamy-looking but still al dente, remove pan from heat and stir in vegan parmesan cheese.

If I am successful at soliciting the help of an eager family member, we will eat this risotto with a side salad and/or a piece of toasted gluten-free garlic bread. 😉

So, don’t throw out those greens and stems on top of your beets!!  Like swiss chard and kale, these greens are our “superheroes”!  If you have some greens leftover from your risotto, try them in your morning smoothie or tossed in your mixed green salad.

8 thoughts on “Beet and Beet Green Risotto

  1. liveblissful

    That looks delicious! I use to buy beet greens but i was the only ones that like the taste of them. i will have to try to be more creatively. I didn’t know you could cook with them too. thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you! We love the greens and stems in this risotto. You can also stir-fry them with some onions, garlic and a little balsalmic and eat them over rice. We do this with our swiss chard, too.

      Reply
  2. Ally

    I haven’t cooked with the green part of the beetroot (beet) either. Many supermarkets sell beetroot with the green part removed. I will have to check my health food store.
    This risotto looks strikingly beautiful.
    🙂

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Ally! When I buy my beets, I usually get asked by the cashier if I would like them to cut off and discard the greens. They are just so darn tasty and nutritious – it seems like such a waste. I have noticed that in packages of mixed greens there are baby beet greens. So nice to see them added to the mix!

      Reply
  3. Sophie33

    I was just thinking about making a home-made risotto! It has been over 1 year that I made them! Yours is a really good & tasty beginning! I love it too! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

