Friday Night Freezer Fudge

fudge

My grandmother used to make the most amazing dish of chocolate fudge.  As a child, I would bring a chair up to the stove and eagerly watch her add the sugar, butter, and milk.  At the right time, it was poured into a large casserole dish and I would get the honours of licking the spoons and pot clean.  Over the course of what seemed liked forever, we would run to the fridge to see if it had hardened.  When it finally did, we would sit at the kitchen table giggling and laughing and savoring every last bite.

My grandmother died just a couple of years ago.  I miss her terribly.  My aunt recently gave me a large cardboard box of all her journals.  Nearly every day, for well over 30 years, my grandmother sat down each night and wrote about her day.  I have spent many evenings this past month reading all her entries.  I have to laugh – many of her afternoons were spent making fudge!

It only seemed fitting that I end the week and celebrate the beginning of March Break (a special time when I would stay for extended periods with my grandmother) with a good batch of chocolate fudge. 🙂

This is a recipe for a quick and easy melt-in-your-mouth freezer fudge.  It contains no dairy and no refined sugar.  I used Ani Phyo’s Lavender Chocolate Bars recipe from her book “Ani’s Raw Food Desserts”.  I eliminated the lavender flowers – wrong time of the year for those!  I opted out of the topping of sliced almonds.  I was just too anxious to eat a piece and, frankly, it was just too late to slice those almonds!  As well, I substituted the agave syrup for maple syrup.  After all, I live in the maple syrup capital of Canada.

FRIDAY NIGHT FREEZER FUDGE

  • 1 cup liquid coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup cacao powder
  • 1/4 cup almond butter
  • 1 cup almonds, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds (optional)

In a food processor, chop almonds and raisins and transfer to a mixing bowl.  Combine the coconut oil and maple syrup in a food processor or high-speed blender.   Add the cacao and almond butter and process slowly until well mixed.  Transfer mixture to a mixing bowl with almonds and raisins and mix with a spoon.

Spread the mixture onto a 9 x 13 dish lined with parchment paper.  Top with sliced almonds, if you wish.

Place dish in the freezer to chill until solid.  This takes about 15 minutes. Cut into squares and serve.  Keep fudge in the freezer, as it softens at room temperature.  It will keep for a month or more in the freezer.  Mine just doesn’t last that long!

If you get it all over your hands and face, you’re eating it too slowly.

11 thoughts on “Friday Night Freezer Fudge

  1. Ally

    This looks delicious Angela!
    I really enjoyed reading about your grandmother. I miss my grandmother terribly too 😦 .
    Did she write the journals in the latter part of her life? Or when her kids were little?
    We are all out of maple syrup (well we have a drizzle for the morning porridge (oatmeal) ), or I would be making your fudge tonight!
    I have raw brownies in the freezer haha! I made them with carob because our kids aren’t allowed to have cocoa/chocolate at school. I prefer chocolate, so your fudge is calling my name!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Hi Ally – We have perfect weather here for maple syrup. The sap is running like mad. My 13 year-old daughter spent the weekend with a friend and she helped her family collect the sap, boil it down, and bottle. I’m so happy it’s going to be a good season!

      My grandmother started to write in a journal just after I was born, so much of her journals are about us grandkids. They are also about her youngest son who is only 4 years older than me! (My mother was a teen when she had me). When reading these journals, you can clearly see that she loved children, loved animals (was always rescuing some poor creature), loved garage/antique sales and had a mean sweet tooth. It’s sad, but the last few years of her life was spent suffering from dementia and Parkinson’s so there are no journals for these years.

      This fudge has been calling my name all weekend. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

