Kale Salad With a Kick

kalesalad1

I finished day 3 of Natasha Kyssa’s “SimplyRaw Detox” with this beautiful and slightly spicy kale salad.  By far, this has to be the best kale salad I have ever tasted.

The recipe is from Brendan Brazier’s “Whole Foods to Thrive”.  Early this morning over a warm cup of Fire Water, I earmarked several pages of this book.  It never really dawned on me until today of the large number of raw recipes Brendan actually has in this book.  This kale salad recipe popped out as it contains a good pinch of cayenne pepper, just like my early morning Fire Water.

This salad was my dinner tonight, so I gave it a little extra by adding a handful of sunflower sprouts and a handful of raw pumpkin seeds.

QUICK KALE AND AVOCADO SALAD

  • 1 head of kale, shredded
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 avocado, chopped
  • handful of sprouts
  • handful of raw seeds or nuts
  • 3 tablespoons flaxseed oil
  • 2 green onions, finely diced
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • a good pinch of cayenne pepper

In a large bowl, using a fork, mix together the oil, lemon juice, salt and cayenne pepper.  Toss in chopped avocado and chopped tomato and mix.  Add kale and green onions and toss.  You may want to use your clean hands to help “wilt” the kale and soften the avocado to a creamier texture.  Once kale has been coated, toss in sprouts and seeds.  Serve immediately.

10 thoughts on “Kale Salad With a Kick

    1. uberdish Post author

      I’ve been putting a lot of kale (or spinach) in my smoothies these days. 🙂 I’m pretty sure you will enjoy this salad because we loved it!

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you Ally! I made this salad again tonight because I love the fact that the whole family enjoys it with me.
      (I feel as though I personally know Brendan Brazier – I love his recipes…well, I just love him!)

      Reply
      1. uberdish Post author

        Do you think he’ll meet little ‘ol me? I’ve talked to him twice now at 2 different events and each time the only questions I can come up with are: “would you mind giving me your autograph?” and “where did you eat last night?” I am so star struck when I see this guy!!

      2. Ally

        Well, there is only one way to find out! He might agree to a phone or email interview. Keep it short, just 3 or 4 questions.

  1. Pingback: Sour Cream n’ Onion Kale Chips | uberdish

Leave a Reply

