Sunday Morning Sunshine Smoothie

I’m just finishing off day 7 of the SimplyRaw Living Foods Detox.  This is a 28-day cleanse written by Ottawa’s own Natasha Kyssa, a raw foods chef and healthy lifestyle coach.  This is my third time in the past year that I have tried this cleanse and I must admit that each time it gets easier.  This time is particularly fun because my sister and sister-in-law are doing the same cleanse.  Not to mention, we are 3 out of 40 plus members of one very enthusiastic support group.

I was feeling great all last week until Friday night rolled around.  I was sitting at the ice rink (like I do every Friday night) watching my daughter skate when suddenly my throat started to ache.  My immediate response was to blame this on the kindergarten class I had been teaching all week.  A few of the little ones had pretty bad colds.  I was so upset!  I thought I was finally over the winter “hump” and the likelihood of getting sick now was next to nil.  I have had a good winter and I am very proud to say that I’ve been able to fight off the number of colds and flu bugs that have made their way throughout our small community.  To get a cold or the flu now just seemed cruel!

By the time my daughter had finished skating and we made the 50 minute trek back home, my nose was running like a tap, my throat was on fire, and I was nearly in tears.

Thankfully, this brief episode of being ill was short-lived.  Today, I feel so energetic! I can’t remember the last time I had so much energy.  I am now wondering if the symptoms I was experiencing was a reaction to my body releasing toxins.  Napping and lots of water probably lessened the severity of my symptoms.

The sun was not shining this morning, but I felt cheery.  I decided that after my wheatgrass shot and mug of fire water that I would make a delicious tropical drink that the whole family could enjoy.

This smoothie was perfect for our lazy Sunday morning.  I found the recipe in Judita Wignall’s “Going Raw” book which has been parked on my kitchen counter since day 1 of this detox (her new book is on my wish list).   It was my husband’s idea to add the lemon and lemon rind giving this smoothie a refreshing taste and altering the hue to a beautiful shade of yellow.  I purchased the coconut meat from Wanigan Organics during my last visit to Toronto.

coconutsmoothie

SUNSHINE SMOOTHIE

  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1/2 cup coconut meat
  • 2 cups pineapple chunks
  • about 1/8 of organic lemon and lemon rind (to taste)
  • 1/2 cup ice

Process in high-power blender until smooth.  Satisfying and refreshing.

Looking forward to week 2! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Sunshine Smoothie

    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you Paul! I think Spring is the perfect time to cleanse. My last one was in the fall and I found it hard because all I wanted was hot soup! 🙂 Do you do cleanses?

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Sophie! I’m thinking about making another this afternoon. It’s cool, windy and overcast here. I could use a little sunshine!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

