Kale and Leek Tofu Frittatas

tofufrittata

For my family , tofu frittatas have become that go-to food you pull out of the freezer when your day goes awry and you don’t have time to whip up something healthy.   When my daughter was eating these en route to the skating rink this past week, I knew I had to post the recipe.  So many of us struggle to find a healthy snack or meal for our kids when life just gets too busy.  Tofu frittatas are that perfect “finger food” that will prevent you from making a quick stop at your local fast food restaurant.

I used Elisa Ray’s tofu frittata recipe from her plant-based and allergy-friendly blog, eating whole.  I made one substitution (kale for spinach) and one addition (leek) from her original recipe in hopes that they would mimic the mini quiches I used to make quite frequently for the kids.  My daughters said they taste just like those quiches and I am thrilled!  No eggs, dairy, or gluten in this recipe!  Add whatever veggies suit your fancy.  Our favourite combination is kale and leek.

Instead of eggs, a block of firm tofu is the base of this recipe.  I recommend that you use an organic tofu in all of your tofu recipes.  Tofu is made from soybeans and right now in Canada and the U.S., nearly all non-organic soybeans are genetically modified.  If you are at all confused about soy or tofu, I suggest you read this – one of my earlier posts.  Hopefully, this will clarify things for you.

If you have small children, use your mini muffin pan and make mini frittatas.  Actually, my ten year-old daughter has renamed these as tofu bites.  They are a perfect size for small mouths.  They are also a perfect size for when you are on the go and wish for a mess-free trip. 😉

tofubites

5 thoughts on “Kale and Leek Tofu Frittatas

    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you Sophie! I’m so happy you enjoyed them! My husband, who is not a big fan of tofu, had 2 last night with his dinner. He thought they were pretty darn good too. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

