I need to come clean

I had the greatest intentions last week of converting my kitchen into one mean sprouting and fermentation facility.   If you recall, my plan was to embrace my third go of Natasha Kyssa’s The Simply Raw Living Foods Detox with enthusiasm and my utmost devotion.  I will be honest.  This past week was not a good week.  Life just got in the way or, as the saying goes life is what happens while you are busy making other plans.

I won’t bore you with all the things that went wrong this past week.  Let’s just say I was a jack-of-all-trades for about 22 hours each and every day. 😉

Week 3 of my cleanse had me introduce more living foods to my diet.  I ate a lot of sprouts, dark leafy greens, green smoothies and juices, and shots of wheatgrass juice and E3 Live.  E3 Live is a frozen/liquid form of blue-green algae that comes from ocean water.  You can read more about this superfood here.

I reduced my consumption of extra virgin olive oil which meant that my salads on most days were topped with lemon juice only.  By the end of the week, I was getting pretty darn tired of sprouts and salads. I wanted Natasha’s seed cheese and puddings but because of my hectic week, I only had time to throw (I do mean this literally) greens and sprouts on my plate. I was also feeling quite irritable as I was making the kids their dinner (so much for cooking with love), as I wanted to dive right into their meal of soups and pasta.

So, what did I do?  I turned to my support group on Facebook and ranted.   Then I cheated. (gasp!)

I had “lightly” steamed asparagus a couple of nights on my salad.  Asparagus is by far a favourite of mine.  I then met a friend at a local coffee shop and ordered an herbal tea and had a couple of her raw power balls that are to die for.  Her power balls are raw,  but they contain maple syrup and almond butter – both foods not allowed this week.  The following day I returned to the same coffee shop with a friend and ordered a black coffee.  Gosh it was good.  On Sunday, the last day of week 3, my daughter and I met some friends for our annual pre-Stars On Ice lunch.  The restaurant of choice was Japanese.  I ate more than my share of avocado and sweet potato tempura sushi with a side of my very own pot of green tea.

So much for following the plan 100 per cent. 😦

I’m not going to beat myself up over it though.  Today is the 23rd day of this 28-day plan.  I will get back on the horse to finish this week proudly.

I will end this post by sharing with you my breakfast,  mid-morning snack, and lunch. All of this with a lot of water in between.

As I end this, the sun is shining and the temperature outside has finally reached a normal high.  A walk into town might be nice.  I think a little fresh air, sunshine, and exercise will help me stay positive. 🙂

5 thoughts on “I need to come clean

  1. df

    These warming temperatures will surely give you a boost – 22 this coming Monday if forecasts are to be believed! Good luck.

    Reply
  2. liveblissful

    You have done extremely well, I don’t think I could last that long! Even if you fail along the way, as long as you can get back to what you doing that is the real test 🙂

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you! I certainly can feel the results. I have more energy and my clothes feel more comfortable. My Vita mix has been getting quite the workout, too! Blending, blending and lots of blending!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

