Springtime Roasted Fiddlehead Salad

vvpLOGO    Welcome to your next salad in this Virtual Vegan Potluck!  I’m sure you mouth is now watering from all the appetizers, beverages, bread and previous salad posts!  I know mine is!

Considering it’s early May, I wanted to give you a salad that contains a veggie that marks the beginning of the Spring season.  Like the first robin on our front porch,  Spring has officially arrived when fiddleheads arrive at our farmer’s markets and local supermarkets.  For me, fiddleheads are a Springtime delicacy.

Fiddleheads are the furled fronds of a young ostrich fern.  Using my daughter’s words here – “they are cool looking”, as “they very much resemble a little gnome’s violin”.  Fiddleheads have a Spring-like and earthy flavour quite similar to asparagus, another one of my favourites.  This veggie is so nutrient-rich, mostly with iron, fiber, and omega 3 and 6 fatty acids, you just gotta love them!  They grow wild in my neck-of-the-woods, mostly along the banks of rivers and marshes.

I’m pretty big on raw foods, but this is one vegetable that should not be eaten raw. Traditionally, fiddleheads are boiled or steamed for 10-12 minutes.  I wanted to try a different method, so I went with roasting.  Roasting usually brings out the sweetness in vegetables, so it was worth a try.  Roasting fiddleheads, I am happy to report,  makes this unassuming vegetable a little more palatable for some fussy mouths (thinking of my 9 year-old here).

fiddlehead

I hope you enjoy my Springtime Roasted Fiddlehead Salad! I tried to keep the recipe and ingredient list simple.  If you are unable to find some fiddleheads, you can always substitute asparagus or broccoli in this recipe.  But, if you really have the desire for fiddleheads, don’t wait too long.  They are only around for a short period of time (unless you acquire frozen ones!).  Without further ado, here is my recipe.

SPRINGTIME ROASTED FIDDLEHEAD SALAD

  • 2 cups of fiddleheads
  • 1/2 tablespoon melted coconut oil for roasting (or any other high smoke point oil)
  • 1 large carrot, sliced thinly on a diagonal
  • 1 celery stalk, sliced thinly on a diagonal
  • 2 green onions, sliced thinly on a diagonal
  • 1/2 red pepper, sliced
  • 1/4 cup parsley, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons cold-pressed extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice, fresh
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and prepare a roasting pan with parchment paper.

Wash fiddleheads thoroughly in cold water.  Gently remove  browned tips and brown flakes.  Pat dry with a clean cloth.  Toss gently in a large bowl with melted coconut oil and place on prepared pan.  Be sure fiddleheads are spread out evenly on pan.  Add a sprinkle of sea salt, if you wish.  Roast fiddleheads for approximately 25 minutes, giving them a little flip halfway through roasting.  Let cool.

In a small mixing bowl, mix together olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic.  This is your salad’s dressing.

Prepare remaining vegetables and toss in a medium-sized serving bowl.

Once fiddleheads have cooled, add them to your serving bowl.  Whip your dressing with a fork and pour the dressing over the vegetables in your serving bowl.  Toss and serve.

Enjoy the rest of this fabulous potluck!

go_bck

go_forward

thanks2

53 thoughts on “Springtime Roasted Fiddlehead Salad

    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Poppy! I’m sorry that you can’t find fiddleheads. You’ll just have to make a trip out this way next Spring! 🙂 Don’t forget that you can substitute broccoli or asparagus. Not as unique looking, but equally delicious!

      Reply
      1. Poppy

        Thanks for the substitution tips Angela! Asparagus sounds good seeing as I am drowning in it (not complaining!). 🙂

    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you very much! And, thank you for all your hard work in getting this VVP going! We have some insanely delicious recipes to try!

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you Somer! And a BIG THANK YOU for all your hard work in prepping for this awesome VVP! I’m so happy to be able to participate. 🙂

      Reply
  1. veghotpot

    Love the look of fiddle heads, they always make me giggle! Been seeing of you can get them in the UK because I am intrigued by the flavour 🙂

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Ha! Yes, they do make you giggle! You should be able to find them in the UK. They may only be in the markets for a short period of time, though. You have to grab them when you see them!

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you Allison! They are definitely one of my favourites. Just too bad, they are in season for a short period of time. When they are in season, I eat them nearly every day! 😉

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you Angela! They are unique veggies. You can try substituting broccoli or asparagus in this recipe – equally delicious!

      Reply
  2. liveblissful

    This is a really interesting veggie, I have never seen it before. I don’t think we have any edible ferns here, we probably do but don’t eat them. thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  3. Brittany

    I LOVE fiddleheads. I’ve only seen them once when I was working at Trader Joe’s. I steamed mine and put lemon and pepper on them. SO GOOD.

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Me too! Such a neat and unique veggie! Too bad you can only find them for such a short period of time. (Although I may grab some this week and freeze them for future dishes).

      Reply
  4. Sophie33

    What a grand & very tasty fiddlehead recipe, Angela! Ferns are protected by law, here in Belgium so we can’t pick them nor eat them! So for next year, I must grow them myself in my garden so I can taste this freaky & tasty looking vegetable aka fern! 🙂 MMMMMMM!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you Sophie! I’m thrilled you like my salad recipe! Wow- I never realized that they are protected in other countries. They’re all over our stores here, but only for a short time. Broccoli or asparagus works nicely in this salad, if growing your own ferns just doesn’t work. 😉

      Reply
  5. Ally

    Oh, I finally got here! I hope there is some of your salad left! It looks delicious.
    I love how you have used a local, unique ingredient. I don’t think you can ever go wrong with roasting. Did your daughter enjoy the salad?

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you so much, Ally! Yes, my daughter had a good helping of fiddleheads. It helps when she sees her mom and big sis eating them like mad!

      Reply
  6. sweetveg

    Your salad looks so beautiful. I am just learning about fiddleheads. I thought that all ferns were edible, but did some research and I was SO wrong! Next I am going to learn how to forage for them. It’s going to need to wait until next year, though. These silly seasonal plants! 🙂

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you! I am so happy that you like my salad. Fortunately, where I live now fiddleheads are in their prime. My grandmother used to go into the forest this time of year and gather bowls of them. You’re right – I wouldn’t recommend this though. My grandma definitely knew what she was looking for! 🙂

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you very much! They are one different looking vegetable. How did you prepare them? I have also steamed them and added some lemon juice and sea salt. I love them!

      Reply
      1. Maggie Muggins

        I marinated them in some beer, tamari and sesame oil and then packed them in a foil pack on the BBQ. They were good, but this just sounds way better 🙂

  7. spinachrevolution

    Wow, very interesting. I have never even heard of fiddleheads. I am glad to see the substitutions of broccoli and asparagus, of which I both know and love. Great salad. Thank you for introducing me to another ingredient that I want to add to list of things to try.

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      I’m so happy you like my salad! If you ever see them in your stores or markets, grab them quick. If you love asparagus, I’m sure you’ll love fiddleheads. Hope you enjoyed the other potluck dishes. I can’t wait to try each and every one!

      Reply
  8. Shelley Elizabeth Hucul

    Being raised in Ontario, we had better access to Fiddleheads…and we loved them. I was thrilled to find Fiddleheads last night in a Saveon store in Salmon Arm, BC. (Score!) Val tipped me off on your blog. The recipe looks great! Thanks, Shelley Hucul

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Hi Shelley! So happy you found some fiddleheads! They are slowly leaving our stores now, but today I scored big time at our farmer’s market with some wild leek! I love this time of the year. 🙂 Thanks for commenting Shelley – enjoy your Spring!

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      I’m happy you love the look of my salad! Sorry, you can’t get fiddleheads where you live. I chose to use fiddleheads because I love using local, seasonal foods when I cook. We are fortunate here, I guess. Try the salad with blanched broccoli or asparagus, if it’s still in season. 🙂

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      I’m so sorry you can’t find fiddleheads in the UK. You will just have to make a trip across the ocean to eastern Canada. 🙂 Try blanched broccoli or asparagus, if it’s still in season. BTW – love your wild garlic and mushroom pie recipe!

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you so much! I wanted to make something a little different for this spring potluck. I thought fiddleheads were perfect! Hope you get a chance to try some!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

