Saturday Morning at the Farmers’ Market

Summer is right around the corner!  Last Saturday morning, our local farmers’ market opened its stalls for the first time this season.  And what a morning!  The sky was blue and the temperature was warm.  A little after 8:30 a.m.,  I walked to our outdoor market to check out the goods.  I had to hurry.  SweetCheeks Kitchen made an early morning post on Facebook that they were bringing their gluten-free and vegan donuts!

SweetCheeks Kitchen, a specialty kitchen based in Almonte, Ontario, is run by the mother and daughter team of Sharon and Kristen Lloyd.  All of their sweets, salads and soups are gluten-free and vegan.  Last October, my husband and daughters surprised me with the most delicious birthday cake made by these two adorable ladies.  It was chai-flavoured – I think the 4 of us finished it in one entire sitting.  I have since had the pleasure of sampling their sweets and dishes at our local coffee shop, Equator Coffee Roasters, and more recently at some of our grocery stores.  Right now, I am addicted to their Power Balls – a raw, truffle-like dessert that melts in your mouth without the guilt.

On opening day at the market, Sharon was kind enough to pose with me for a photograph.

sweetcheeks

I arrived at the SweetCheeks booth just in time to scoop up the last few donuts.  I am not at all surprised that these donuts went so quickly.  They are deliciously light with the perfect amount of sweetness!  They are also baked and contain no added oils! 🙂 Later, I felt like mother-of-the-year when I presented a plate to my daughter and her friends.

donuts

I made a few more purchases that day.  One farmer was selling some beautiful looking organic greens.  I picked up a bunch of wild garlic (or wild leek) and made a pesto sauce to serve over brown rice noodles for dinner.  I also found a bunch of mizuna greens.  These greens are similar to arugula but with a milder flavour.  They made a wonderful addition to our evening salad.  As well, rhubarb is in season, so I couldn’t pass on purchasing a couple of bundles of freshly cut stalks.  This morning I made the most delicious rhubarb muffins sweetened only with maple syrup. (Recipe coming!)

This photo shows a bundle of mizuna greens and wild garlic.

greens

I look forward to many more Saturdays at The Almonte Farmers’ Market.  Do you have a farmers’ market in your area? If so, what treasures can you find?

6 thoughts on “Saturday Morning at the Farmers’ Market

  1. PetKid

    If I was you, and you want something tasty as well, go to the maple syryp stall and get some maple leaf candies! They are delicious!! They are solid pieces of sugar and I like them a lot. We biked to the farmer’s market. My brother couldn’t be there with us because he was working in the library, so we got him some treats. I hope to see you there next week!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      You’re a very nice little brother! I did see the maple sugar candies. They are sooooo good. Maybe I will see you there next weekend? Save a maple leaf candy for me, please!

      Reply
  2. Sophie33

    I grow ramps= wild garlic myslf in my garden! A lovely view on your farmer’s market! We can only dream of Gf & vegan stands! 🙂 Big sigh!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Mmmm! Lucky you to have your own wild garlic in your garden! We are definitely fortunate to have SweetCheeks as a vendor at our farmer’s market. I just love these ladies! 🙂 Did I mention they also bring salads?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

