Vegan and Gluten-free Rhubarb Muffins

rhubarbmuffins

Tart and tangy and absolutely delicious!  This is the recipe I promised you last week.

I found this recipe for vegan and gluten-free rhubarb muffins at Whole Life Nutrition.  I had just returned from The Almonte Farmer’s Market with a beautiful bundle of rhubarb stalks and the desire to bake something not-too-sweet.  Tom and Ali were absolutely right when they said that “these little gems won’t last long after being baked”!

Next to the 2 cups of chopped fresh rhubarb, this recipe had me at cardamom.  I have always loved the unique flavour of this herb which can be found in chai drinks and curry dishes.

This recipe from Whole Life Nutrition offers the baker in your house some ingredient choices.  This is what I used – brown rice flour, potato starch, melted organic virgin coconut oil, maple syrup, and grated orange peel.   The recipe also suggests using blueberries should you not get your hands on some fresh rhubarb.   A fruit choice I will be sure to try in August when the blueberries are at their peak. 🙂  Gosh, I love this time of year!!

3 thoughts on “Vegan and Gluten-free Rhubarb Muffins

    1. uberdish Post author

      Did you make some of these muffins? I saw rhubarb again this past Saturday at the farmers’ market. I’m now kicking myself for not buying a bunch. I went for the basket of strawberries instead – still a good purchase.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

