“For the Road” Raw Balls

powerballs

This post is going to be short, but sweet.  I made these for a very long car trip that I will be taking tomorrow morning.   I thought these tasty fudge-like morsels would be a perfect pick-me-up for my long haul.

For the next 3 weeks, I will be away from my computer, so I will not be making any posts.  Instead,  I will be engaged in some kayaking, snorkeling and some all around good outdoor fun with a few very adventurous family members.  Reading is definitely in order.  I packed the newest addition to my library, Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition. 🙂

These raw balls were inspired by Alicia Silverstone’s Raw Balls. They are quick and easy to put together and are forgiving if you desire to get “creative” in the kitchen.  If you don’t like getting your hands messy, then ask the kids to do it!

For the Road Raw Balls

  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 1/2 cup pitted dates
  • a little less than 1/2 cup raw carob powder
  • a little less than 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup raw almond butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 cup raw cashews
  • 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • some shredded unsweetened coconut on a plate for rolling

In a food processor, process almonds until coarsely ground. Add the dates and pulse a few times. Add the carob powder, maple syrup, almond butter, vanilla, and salt. Process until the mixture is thick and smooth. Add the cashews and sunflower seeds and pulse a few times. I like the cashews and seeds to remain in chunks.

Roll the mixture into approximately 12 balls with your hands. Roll the balls on a plate of shredded coconut. Place balls in a sealed container in the freezer until hardened.

These may be my breakfast. 😉 See you in 3 weeks!

7 thoughts on ““For the Road” Raw Balls

  1. Mahogany

    I am always looking for snacks that are really delicious but quick, I will have to try this. Also, I’d like to mention I have a Tele-event coming up all about encouraging young and older women to believe in themselves and using practical tools to build that positive foundation. Feel free to tell other women who would be interesting, it is a free event. Hope to see you there.
    http://crazyfunsexyguide.com/2013/07/09/discover-your-rich-feminine-bliss-live-tele-event/
    Many blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

