Crazy Days of Summer

Can it really be the last day of July?  I will try hard not to panic.  I absolutely love summertime and don’t even want to think about the end.  I just love the warm weather, the open water, all the fruits and vegetables this season bears and, of course, having my two girls at home.  It’s so hard to believe that we are entering its last half.

Like all our past summers,  we have been busy and time has flown by.  Tomorrow will be August 1 and, sadly, we will start to see back-to-school flyers and ads.  (I will try not to write this too loudly in fear of tears from across the table).  We also may spy small gatherings of our Canada Geese in farmers’ fields and parks.  They will soon be “honking”  about their upcoming migratory flight south.

So far, our family has been fortunate enough to have had an amazing summer.  Not only have we had many fabulous weekends at the family cottage, but we have also taken pleasure in a few day trips to local parks and beaches.  We are so lucky to have easy access to so many beautiful rivers and lakes in our area.

Chandos

Our two girls, ages 14 and 10,  have also chosen to stay active with their sports during the summer. This means I make frequent runs to and from various soccer fields and skating rinks in the city.  Sometimes I am grumbling at the wheel on early mornings, but honestly I wouldn’t have it any other way.

So, I would like to thank you all for being understanding with my lack of consistent blog posts.  I tend to be a little on the spontaneous side and will grab any chance I get for a little fun and activity, especially this time of the year.  After all, we only live once.  Come September, I should have a little more time to myself and, as a result, be more in a routine.

I would love to hear about your summer!  Any adventures?

Happy August everyone!

6 thoughts on “Crazy Days of Summer

  1. Ally

    I love your photos! The diving shot is great.
    As you know, it is winter here. In summer, we enjoy visiting beaches, having picnics, devouring mangoes and nectarines. Enjoy the last weeks of summer, and the time with your girls. 🙂

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      I’m happy you like my photos! I was quite pleased with myself when I pulled them up on my computer screen. I just need to master those darn food shots! I forget that you are now in your winter season. It’s probably because your winter photos look so similar to our summer photos! 😉 Today is a little on the cool side, so I’ve chosen to stay close to home to do some quiet activities – scrapbooking and baking perhaps. (You can feel Fall moving in). We will see how long the “quietness” lasts!

      Reply
  2. df

    In this party of the country, we have to grab summer by the horns and enjoy it while it’s here, so no apologies required! We had five fantastic days camping on a river with our canoe and a kayak recently and are looking forward to a second round at the end of August. I’m with you in fighting back the sense that the summer will be ‘winding down’ now, it’s hard and bittersweet. We just have to keep enjoying it while we can! Love your photos too.

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you! I’m so happy to get compliments about my photos! I bet you have some beautiful photos from your last canoe trip. Camping is so much fun, isn’t it? I’m hoping to still take the family to Algonquin Park. My girls have not had any experience with portaging and I think it’s time! 😉 Have fun on your next trip!

      Reply
  3. liveblissful

    Nice to hear you been having a great active summer. I’m looking forward to summer so I can get out of the house a bit more. That lake with the deck looks just like in the movies. We don’t really have things like that here. Too many crocodiles lol

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      I can’t imagine worrying about crocodiles! We can pretty much swim in our lakes and rivers as much and as long as we want. In the Spring, we are just cautious of the bears if we are in the forest. Hope your upcoming summer is fun-filled!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

