Banana-Apple Oatmeal Energy Chews

banana-apple oatmeal energy chews_edited-1

A few weeks ago, my daughter was feverishly pouring through my cookbooks looking for a healthy “granola bar-like” snack that she could take to the skating rink for her long evening practices.  In the end, she bookmarked a recipe from Lindsay Nixon’s book, Everyday Happy Herbivore,  with a sticky that read “Mom, please make for me”.  The recipe was for “Oatmeal Chews” – a no added sugars or fat cookie that was easy-to-make and looked delicious.

In our house, this cookie has evolved over the past two or three weeks.  After the first batch, we quickly decided that this recipe absolutely had to be doubled to make 30 cookies.  Thirty cookies should take us right through to the end of the school/work week.  It should, but we have yet to make that one happen.

Next, we decided to add some additional ingredients.  Our recipe now includes chia seeds, grated nutmeg and a chopped McIntosh apple.  On Tuesday morning, I thought I was brilliant when I mixed in a chopped Vega Maca Chocolate Bar  prior to baking.  (On this particular day, chocolate was absolutely necessary for survival). 😉

These chews make a perfect snack prior to any workout. They are also great for those mornings when you find yourself on-the-run.

BANANA-APPLE OATMEAL ENERGY CHEWS

  • 4 very ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup soaked raisins (try soaking overnight)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon grated nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 1/2 cups gluten-free oats
  • 1 chopped McIntosh apple
  • 1 chopped Vega Maca Chocolate Bar (optional)

Combine bananas, soaked raisins, applesauce, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg in a blender and puree until smooth.  Transfer mixture to a mixing bowl.  Add chia seeds, oatmeal, apple and chocolate (if desired) and mix with a spoon until well combined.

Let batter rest for 5 minutes. Grease or line your cookie sheet and pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Drop by large spoonfuls onto your cookie sheet and then flatten slightly with the back of your spoon or with your hands.

Bake for about 14 minutes.  Let stand on your cookie sheet for a few minutes before transferring to a rack.

*********

We had a beautiful Wednesday morning this past week and I took full advantage of it.  I packed up some of our banana-apple oatmeal energy chews and took my kayak out on the Mississippi River here in Almonte.  It was so peaceful!  Not a soul on the river.  Just me, some blue heron, turtles, geese, and ducks.  I love this!

19 thoughts on “Banana-Apple Oatmeal Energy Chews

    1. uberdish Post author

      Hope you enjoy these cookies, Paul. I’m going to try to get my kayak out again this week. We are starting to notice that the leaves are changing colour. In another few weeks, the scenery will be breathtaking.

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Great! Thank you Megan for the link. Those bars do look delicious. I love the look of all those pumpkin seeds. Yum! You’re right. They would make a great gift.

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you for your comment Ally. If you love a soft and moist cookie that is not too sweet then you’ll love these. If I don’t get called out to work, I plan to take my kayak out again this week.

      Reply
  1. df

    These look like a great idea; in my house it would have to be chocolate chips rather than raisins, but that sounds do-able. That paddle must have been so nice!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Definitely add the chocolate chips! I had a Maca bar so I went with that instead. In this recipe, the raisins are pureed so go completely unnoticed. 😉 They “sweeten” the cookie. Soaked dates would work well too.

      Reply
  2. Lindsay

    Yum, this is exactly the kind of thing I need on hand for that 3pm energy slump when I need something just a little sweet. Thanks for the recipe, I’m adding it to my pinterest!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Lindsay, for adding it to your pinterest! I hope you enjoy these cookies. I substituted the apple for a pear the other day and they were delicious, too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

