Banana-Chai, Chia and Sesame Seed Crackers

I am so excited to share these raw, vegan and gluten-free snacks with you! If you are like me and love a good cup of Chai tea on a chilly November morning, then you will love these slightly sweet and spicy crackers.

banana-chai crackers

BANANA-CHAI, CHIA AND SESAME SEED CRACKERS

  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 1 tablespoon cardamom
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon cloves
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup or agave syrup (optional)*
  • 1 cup chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds, soaked for 4 hours and rinsed
  • sea salt and a generous amount of freshly ground pepper

Using a food processor, blend bananas, spices and syrup. Transfer to a medium-sized bowl and add chia seeds, sesame seeds and salt and pepper. Mix well. Pour batter evenly on Paraflexx lined dehydrator trays. Set dehydrator to 112 degrees Celsius and dehydrate for approximately 12 hours.

I served these crackers to my kids this morning for breakfast.  You may want to try pairing a few with a pear and almond smoothie.  🙂

*If you have been following me for some time, you’ll know that I have a tendency to sweeten some of my dishes with pure maple syrup. Maple syrup is one of my choice sweeteners because it is full of vitamins and minerals. I also adore its distinct flavour. I live in the heart of Ontario’s Maple Sugar Capital, so I am very fortunate to have this heavenly sweetener at my fingertips.

However, if you are at all concerned with using maple syrup because of its high glycemic index then you can certainly leave it out. My previous attempts at these crackers did not contain maple syrup or any other sweetener. They were good, but I found that maple syrup highlighted the chai flavour of these crackers perfectly.

20 thoughts on “Banana-Chai, Chia and Sesame Seed Crackers

  1. df

    These sound delicious Angela, and a great way to start the day. For a long time I made my own chai in the morning, but have been defaulting to coffee (my weakness). This is a good reminder to get back to the chai!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you! I love anything chai, so these crackers are definitely going to be a staple in my house. I love that I can grab one in the afternoon if I need a little energy burst or if I just feel like something a little on the sweet side. We should get together for a chai tea one of these days!

      Reply
      1. uberdish Post author

        Thank you so much, Dagne! I am delighted! A big thank you to you for helping me get started and being so darn patient during all your “how to” sessions! 🙂

  2. Ally

    Oh yum! These look great. I love chai spices. I will get Mat on to these (he is the dehydrated cracker maker in our house).

    What a beautiful breakfast that would have been. Put the mixture in the dehydrator at dinner time, and they are ready for breakfast. Perfect!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thanks, Ally! Please tell Mat that he may have to ease back a bit on the freshly ground pepper. We thought the crackers were perfect, but little ones may think otherwise. 😉 Let me know how it goes…

      As for breakfast….well, our breakfasts always seem to be busy (unless it’s a Sunday), so these crackers were perfect. Loving my new rice cooker for the same reason. Oatmeal ready to eat when you wake up. Love it!

      Reply
      1. Ally

        Oh thanks for the tip! I’ll let him know.

        Your rice cooker sounds good. I stand at the stove each morning, stirring the oatmeal. Your way sounds much better!

    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you! I hope you do get a chance to try my recipe and I hope you just LOVE them! I set my dehydrator to 112 degrees Fahrenheit to preserve the enzymes. I would be thrilled if you let me know how the oven worked for these crackers.:)

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Banana-Chai, Chia and Sesame Seed Crackers | Gluten Free Advice Perth

Leave a Reply

