Smokin’ Split Pea Soup

Baby, it’s cold outside!! A snowfall warning in effect, temperatures reaching minus 27 degrees Celsius, and a mighty northerly wind – this was our past weekend. Time to break out the parka and snowpants!  🙂

We warmed things up inside with a hearty bowl of Kris Carr’s Split Pea Soup. As per her recipe in “Crazy Sexy Kitchen” (click here for the recipe), we added a teaspoon of smoked paprika and some finely chopped kale. I  added my own touch to this awesome soup by throwing in some chopped potato.

When you check out the recipe, you’ll notice that Kris Carr suggests adding some dulse seaweed. Unfortunately, I did not have dulse in my pantry and I wasn’t about to head to the grocery store with over 25 cm of freshly fallen snow on the roads. However, I do plan on adding some dulse the next time around for that extra boost of vitamins, minerals, and protein. The soup was still delicious without the dulse.

Split Pea Soup

A bowl of this soup will warm you from head to toe.  An ideal meal for a day full of skiing or snowshoeing. I am so looking forward to the upcoming holidays where I will have a little more time to enjoy the great outdoors. I believe that the best way to enjoy a good Canadian winter is to play in it. My only wish is that it will warm up, just a bit. In my opinion, it can’t get any colder.  😉

Enjoy your week! It’s going to be a busy one!

6 thoughts on “Smokin’ Split Pea Soup

  1. df

    Soup is almost always the best answer to deeply cold days and this one looks delicious! I’m with you on getting out to play in the snow, it makes the whole experience of winter so much better. We got out for a ski around or land yesterday and it felt really good. Today, I did keep the dog to a very short walk though, it really is cold in a way that doesn’t feel good!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      I just love a good bowl of soup after braving the icy great outdoors! It’s beautiful, though, isn’t it? And no worries this year about whether or not we’ll have snow for Christmas! More to come this weekend and didn’t today’s -17 temperature feel “mild”. Stay warm. Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas!

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      37 degrees! Wow! Well, you keep cool Paul….and kindly refrain from talking about your tropical weather! 😉 Happy Holidays to you and your family, Paul!

      Reply
  2. flavourphotos

    This looks really tasty and warming. I thought the book title sounded familiar – I saw Chad Sarno again this year at a cookery demonstration in London. Great guy and what a gorgeous cookbook too!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you for your comment. Yes, I should note that this cookbook is also Chad Sarno’s! It is a gorgeous cookbook and is filled with so many delicious dishes. I may be in London next week. I would love, love to see one of his demonstrations!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

