Fettuccine Alfredo

fettuccine alfredo

I have been talking about this rich and creamy dish for so long that it’s about time I share the recipe.

I love serving this delicious pasta dish to my dairy-loving guests. They all have been shocked with its better-than-the-real Alfredo taste! I apologize Alfredo di Lelio!

This particular recipe comes from Chloe Coscarelli’s cookbook, Chloe’s Kitchen. Β If you are a pasta lover looking for plant-based dishes, I highly recommend you purchase this book. Chloe’s pasta recipes rock! I love their ability to pleasantly surprise those vegan skeptics. πŸ˜‰

The above photo shows our fettuccine Alfredo with steam fried crimini mushrooms, steamed broccoli florets and a garnish of chopped green onion. Along with a small bowl of Caesar salad, this is one of our 10 year-old’s favourite meals. She’s all into comfort foods and this one certainly hits the spot on a cold winter’s night.

FETTUCCINE ALFREDO SAUCE (from Chloe’s Kitchen)

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 (or more) cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup raw cashews or blanched almonds, soaked overnight or boiled for 10 minutes and drained
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 teaspoons white miso paste (optional, but it adds great flavour to the sauce)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • chopped Italian parsley for garnish

Over medium-high heat, steam fry chopped onion in a skillet with a bit of water. You may also try steam frying in a bit of vegetable stock or dry white wine. Steam frying works wonderfully with onions, garlic or any delicate vegetable and it’s a great way to avoid that extra fat. Add your garlic and let cook for a few more minutes. Remove from heat.

Cook gluten-free fettuccine noodles according to package directions. Drain and return to pot.

Using a Vitamix or other high-powered blender, combine onions and garlic, softened cashews, water, miso paste (if desired), lemon juice, salt and pepper. Process on high until the mixture is very smooth. This usually takes a couple of minutes. If sauce gets too thick, add a little water at a time and mix.

Toss cooked pasta with Alfredo sauce. Serve immediately and garnish with parsley. Enjoy!

Here’s another pasta favourite by Chloe to give a try!

10 thoughts on “Fettuccine Alfredo

  1. sandra

    Thank you, Angela. This is a wonderful recipe. Once upon a time I had the opportunity of dinning at Alfredo’s in Rome, Italy. Have loved Alfredo sauce/meals since then. This healthy-gluten free-veg meal is just like dining in Rome ! Regards, Sandra

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Sandra, for the nice comment! What a great opportunity to have dined in Rome at Alfredo’s! I hope to one day visit Italy. It’s on my bucket list. Hope you get a chance to make this Alfredo sauce. It’s definitely a favourite in our house. πŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Yes! Hope you get a chance to try it soon. My plan is to serve it over some savoury crepes stuffed with steamed cauliflower – very soon.

      Reply
  2. Sian White

    Firstly, I have never thought to steam fry vegetables with wine. That is a GENIUS idea!

    Secondly I’m ashamed to say that my copy of Chloe’s Kitchen has made its way to the back of the bookshelf, as I got it for Christmas along with Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Veganomicon and Isa Does It. Let’s just say Isa won that war.

    You’ve definitely inspired me to dig out Chloe’s Kitchen and have a go at some of her pasta dishes. They’re the ultimate comfort food, so easy and quick to make and so versatile!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you, Sian, for your comment! I have Isa Does It and – wow – I can’t stop making her recipes. My one daughter is crazy for her Chickpea-Rice Soup and Kale Salad with Butternut Squash and Lentils. I find that Chloe’s recipes are great transition-to-veganism recipes. They are so similar in taste to the non-vegan versions that I often go to her book when serving guests that are a wee wary of any foods with no meat, eggs, cheese, etc. My husband and I held a reception party last November for my sister and her new husband who had eloped a month earlier. I made a few of her appetizers for this party. The Black Bean Cakes and Artichoke Dip were a huge hit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

