Rustic Sweet Onion Flatbread with Sacha Inchi Butter

Rich in fiber, protein and essential fats, this flatbread is a good choice for individuals wishing to boost their immune system and reduce inflammation in the body.  Spread thinly on a teflex sheet or lined baking sheet, this recipe makes an absolute delicious light cracker for soups.  As smaller pieces, it makes a savoury and crunchy topping for salads.

cracker

I served this flatbread earlier this week with my Roasted Garlic, Cauliflower and Celeriac Soup .  The following day, I offered it to my kids with a heaping spread of sacha inchi butter as an after school snack.  They absolutely loved it!  They said it tastes a lot like peanut butter. 🙂  Sacha inchi seeds are a wonderful nut alternative.

I took both recipes from one of my favourite cookbooks and resource.   Whole Foods to Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health by Brendan Brazier is a book I highly recommend to those striving for a healthier diet for themselves, their family and our planet.  Brendan’s recipes are easy to make and are all allergen free.

RUSTIC SWEET ONION FLATBREAD

  • 3/4 cup tomato, chopped
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1 tbsp miso paste (I used mellow yellow)
  • 1 red onion, chopped (about 2 cups)
  • 1 large garlic clove, chopped
  • 3/4 cup flaxseed powder
  • 1/2 cup hemp seeds
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds

In a food processor, blend the tomato, raisins, and miso paste until smooth.  Add the onion, garlic, and flaxseed powder and blend again to a smooth consistency.  Mix in the hemp seeds and chia seeds by hand.

I used my dehydrator to dry the bread, but you can certainly use an oven.  Spread the mixture on a lined baking sheet and bake for approximately 2 hours at 250 degrees F.  Be sure to flip the bread over after one hour to allow for even cooking.  When the edges begin to brown, your bread is done.  Turn the oven off and leave the bread inside for another 30 minutes.  Break into pieces.

I prefer to use my Excalibur dehydrator.  I spread the mixture onto 2 teflex sheets and set the temperature to 112 degrees F for an optimal raw bread.  Cooking food at such a low temperature helps to maintain the food’s enzymes and nutrients. This eases digestion which in turn helps preserve energy. (Ever feel like taking a nap after a heavy meal?).  I allowed the bread to dry in my dehydrator for 8 hours (overnight).  In the morning, I flipped the bread over and continued to dehydrate it for another hour and a half.  I cut my cracker on a cutting board into even (well almost even) rectangular pieces.

This flatbread or cracker satisfies the carb craving without the guilt.  Most packaged, store bought crackers are terribly high in fat, sodium, refined sugars and refined carbohydrates, even if the outside of the package tells you otherwise! 😉

SACHA INCHI BUTTER

  • 1 cup sacha inchi seeds
  • 2 tsp hemp oil
  • dash of seed salt

Process all the ingredients together in a food processor.  (My kids prefer the seeds to be a little crunchy.  This takes only a couple of minutes of blending).

13 thoughts on “Rustic Sweet Onion Flatbread with Sacha Inchi Butter

    1. uberdish Post author

      Thank you so much, Paul! You will find the book very informative and you’ll love the recipes. (Try the sour cream n’ onion kale chips). My goal is to eat in all of his 18 favourite restaurants. So far, I have visited 4. Crudessence in Montreal is next on my list.

      Reply
  1. Ally

    I have never heard of sacha inchi seeds. I often learn something new from you Angela!
    We have an Excalibur too, so I will definitely try this recipe. Does flaxseed powder mean ground flax seeds?
    Mat has an e-version of a Brazier book. I wonder if it is the one you mention? I will check!
    🙂 Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Hi Ally! Yes, sorry – flaxseed powder is finely ground flax seeds.

      Brendan has 3 books right now. His first is “The Thrive Diet” and his latest is “Thrive Fitness”. He is an athlete and the creator of the Vega line of products. I love the guy. I’ve met him twice at events and he’s easy to talk to, except that I get a little giddy and star-struck. He’s Canadian, too! 🙂 I have a post – http://uberdish.ca/2012/10/17/indian-spiced-lentil-hemp-patties/ – also his recipe. Check out the photo 🙂

      Reply
      1. Ally

        Thanks for the link! I love the photo. 🙂

        My sister buys Vega, online. She puts it in her green smoothies.
        I’m going to ask Mat about the book in the morning. I’m off to bed, it’s late, ah….early. The sun will be up in a few hours. Have a great weekend!

  2. liveblissful

    love this recipe for flat bread, i have been looking for recipes to make in my new dehydrator but most take too long. 2 hours is great! not sure if sacha inca seeds have reached australia yet. ill have to look out for them. thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. uberdish Post author

      Sorry…I know, it does take longer in the dehydrator. I try to do everything during the night so it doesn’t feel as long.

      The oven method is up to 2 hours. As for the dehyrdrator, first overnight (6-8 hours), then flip, then up to 2. We wanted more of a cracker so we had it in longer. You could go less if you prefer a bread-like texture.

      I used Vega’s sacha inchi seeds. Maybe you could order them? You could use other nuts, but sacha inchi seeds are so much more nutrient-dense.

      Reply
      1. liveblissful

        i just came back to check the instructions and realised i was wrong about the time, i will have to do it in the night. but still a great recipe for me to try it out 🙂

  3. home technology

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
    and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a comment